Verstappen snatches win away from Leclerc in Imola . death moments

Starting in the F1 Sprint from pole position Max Verstappen struggled to escape and lost his place to Charles Leclerc, but he did all the things necessary to secure the winning position and first place for the main race that came back from Monegasque.

Charles Leclerc congratulates Max Verstappen after the F1 Sprint سباق

sought View images

Charles Leclerc congratulates Max Verstappen after the F1 Sprint سباق

The first Formula 1 race of the season did not fail to impress, as the 21-lap race was full of drama to the brim. From the first lap, the entertainment started to emerge with a great start from Sergio Perez, which prompted him to dash in front of Fernando Alonso. Kevin Magnussen – who started his race on the medium tires – did enough to stop the challenge from Perez and Ricciardo on the first lap who both started racing on soft surfaces, just like any other driver in the 10th. Gasly sent Zhou Guanyu to a wall while trying to make a move outside, triggering a safety car and stopping the early drama.

Also read: 2022 Emilia Romagna GP Preview: F1 Sprint returns with new rules

Like his teammate, stretcher Max Verstappen had a great initial reaction at the start too, but his getaway faltered due to a gear synchronization issue. Charles Leclerc took advantage of this and grabbed P1 before the first corner. Monegasque seemed comfortable in the lead throughout the race until the last few rounds unfolded, with Verstappen catching up with the Ferrari of Charles. Max Verstappen made good use of the DRS heading down the main, and on the penultimate lap of the race he overtook Ferrari by turning outside, disrupting the tifosi salutes.


Max Verstappen has a max of 8 points and will start the main race in 1st place tomorrow.

Image credit: Formula Motorsport Limited

Although the racing stars were the fellow drivers who were both vying for the top. Starting in P10 after a crash in Q2 yesterday, Carlos Sainz drove a clean race. Although some of his initial moves were slow, he didn’t let his drive get out of shape and made perfect use of his Ferrari’s pace to fight his way into P4.

Also read: F1: Verstappen ruins Ferrari’s rainy homecoming at Imola with pole

Sergio Perez drove an even more exciting race. Starting with P7, the Mexican made great moves making perfect use of the DRS and took his last “medal” home. McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo also drove well for most of the race, making a great late brake on Magnussen in classic Ricciardo style. Starting in P3, Lando Norris lost while battling Perez and Sainz, and the Briton will join his third-grader at the start of tomorrow’s race.

The third team of the “Big Three” – Mercedes – could not improve yesterday’s qualifying result. Both drivers lost at the start in places, and while Russell was able to climb back into the initial starting position in 11th, Hamilton could only finish 14th, a place short of his start. Alonso struggled at first, too, to get a poor getaway. The Spaniard defended well against the other Spaniard on the net – Sainz – but lost the spot and finished ninth, out of points. After a late move on Magnussen, Bottas finished in P7, and the Dane picked up the last point in P8.


Russell manages to hold on to P11 to start tomorrow’s race.

Image credit: Formula Motorsport Limited

ALSO READ: 3 F1 Sprint events confirmed for 2022 with some welcome changes


The order of finishing today’s F1 Sprint will also determine tomorrow’s staring grid. Here are the results:

POS no Driver car rolls time / retired points
1 1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing RBPT 21 30: 39,567 8
2 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 21 + 2.975 seconds 7
3 11 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing RBPT 21 + 4.721 seconds 6
4 55 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 21 +17.578 seconds 5
5 4 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes 21 +24,561s 4
6 3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes 21 +27.740s 3
7 77 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Ferrari 21 +28.133s 2
8 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 21 +30.712s 1
9 14 Fernando Alonso Renault Alpine 21 +32.278s 0
10 47 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari 21 +33.773s 0
11 63 George Russell mercedes 21 +36,284.0000s 0
12 22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri RBPT 21 +38.298s 0
13 5 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Aramco Mercedes 21 +40.177s 0
14 44 Lewis Hamilton mercedes 21 +41.459s 0
15th 18 Lance’s Outing Aston Martin Aramco Mercedes 21 +42.910s 0
16 31 Esteban Ocon Renault Alpine 21 +43.517s 0
17 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri RBPT 21 +43.794s 0
18 23 Alexander Albon Williams Mercedes 21 +48.871s 0
19 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes 21 +52.017s 0
North Carolina 24 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo Ferrari 0 DNF 0

For the latest car news and reviews, follow at Twitterand Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: