Shootout has been replaced by two 15-minute qualifying sessions – Sportscar365

Photo: Mark Horsberg

The Top 10 Shootout to determine the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour Network was replaced by two 15-minute qualifying sessions, in a late change of format.

A communication from event organizer Supercars was released shortly after the preliminary qualifiers concluded and stated that two specific sessions would replace the famous crossfire one-by-one procedure that was used in previous editions of the event.

The first session will be reserved for cars that ranked sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth on Saturday afternoon.

They are the Grove Racing Porsche 911 GT3 R, the Valmont Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3, the Triple Eight Racing Engineering Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo, the Wall Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo and the Hallmarc Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II.

The five fastest cars from the preliminary qualifiers will take to the circuit for a second time for 15 minutes, with the best time of both sessions.

The second session will feature the Coinspot-powered Melbourne Performance Centre, MPC-operated Audi Sport Team Valvoline cars, and Mercedes-AMG cars from SunEnergy1 Racing and Sheargold Motorsport.

According to Supercars, the coordination review was conducted to “ensure that optimal operating tire temperatures are reached under current conditions.”

“The 15-minute window will allow each driver sufficient time in the penalty shootout to reach these temperatures and put in at least one flight lap while vying for first place in Sunday’s race,” its statement read.

“After extension talks with competitors, event organizers replaced the current single-car shootout with a pair of 15-minute sessions for the top 10 cars of qualifying.”

Daniel Lloyd He is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA ​​World Endurance Championship, the AWS-supported Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: